U13A Mid Hurling Champions 2023

Centenary Agri Mid U13 Group 1 Final
Durlas Óg: 4-07 (19)
Boherlahan Dualla: 2-10 (16)
By Mark Dunne PRO
Summer sunshine provided the perfect backdrop to this Centenary Agri Mid U13 Group1 Final with an exciting end to end finish saw Durlas Óg lift the trophy.
In a pulsating affair, Boherlahan Dualla opened the scoring with a Cian Fogarty point inside the opening two minutes. Durlas Óg responded calmy with the next three points, captain Tommy Broderick scoring the first free of the day with Robbie Hanrahan (65m) and man of the match Alex Lakomy pointing. The game was looking for a spark and it came on the 10th minute. A bursting run from Boherlahan’s joint captain Bobby McLoughlin saw him raise the first green flag of the day. Durlas Óg though replied in the best fashion with Tommy Broderick netting to send his side back in front. Credit to both sides in warm conditions they gave a wonderful displays of the basics of our wonderful sport. Durlas Óg scored the next point on the 20th minute to extend their lead before a wonderful piece of skill saw Alex Lakomy net for his sides second. Boherlahan Dualla reduced the deficit to six on the half time whistle with McLoughlin again the provider. 2-05 to 1-02 the half time score.
In warm conditions both sides really gave the large crowd plenty to cheer on. Durlas Óg opened the second half with Broderick again providing. Boherlahan Dualla though did not panic and pointed the next three to keep them in the encounter. Durlas Óg replied with one of their own on 11 minutes but again Boherlahan Dualla did not wilt and saw Crosse and Harry Ryan point to again narrow the deficit. With the game really heating up, Durlas Óg again dealt Boherlahan Dualla a blow with Sam Fanning’s goal pushing them six in front. Harry Ryan’s impact on this team was huge and moments later he netted to reduce the gap to three. This spurred on his side with less than 10mins remaining and Boherlahan tagged on three more with Ryan, McLoughlin and Crosse all scoring to tie up the game. With extra time looming and into the 25th minute a final attack from Durlas Óg saw them work the ball to Lakomy who made no mistake and raised the 4th green flag of the day for his side and ultimately take the title. Full time score 4-07 to 2-10.
Huge credit to both sets of players in this pulsating encounter. Warm weather conditions may have added to the spectacle but made life tricky players. Captain Tommy Broderick collected the trophy with Alex Lakomy picking up the Man of the Match Award.
Panel & Scorers: Boherlahan Dualla: Luke Keane, Niall Fitzgerald, Jake Gleeson, Albert Maher, Bobby McLoughlin (1-03), Robert Mulcahy, Niall Quirke, Dara Crosse (0-02), Jamie Maher, Harry Ryan (1-04), Cian Fogarty (0-01), Gearoid Horgan, Daniel Burke, AJ Power, Lawrence Óg Hickey , Dunnacha Harrington, Jack Maher
Durlas Óg: James Verling, Robbie Hanrahan (0-01), Tadhg Barrett, Ruadhán Larkin, Liam Burke (0-01, Devin Treacy, Pierce Cullen, Sam Fanning (1-00), Patrick Purcell, Jonathan Leamy, Ben Broderick, Alex Lakomy (2-02), Tommy Broderick (1-03), Jack Cullen, Finn O’Brien, Kevin Lloyd, Ryan Harnett, Tadhg O’Gorman, Ted Quilter
Referee: Martin Ryan (Moyne Templetuohy)

By secretarydurlasog Thu 14th Mar